After being charged with DUI, you could be facing severe penalties like jail time and fines. Therefore, hiring a DUI lawyer is crucial to get all the legal advice you need on the matter. A lawyer will favorably help you settle the matter in court by either reducing the charges or making them go away for good. They will build a solid case to defend you and ensure your penalties are revoked or diminished. Knowing the attorney’s role and how they will make a difference in your case is essential. Here is how the expert will assist you.
Why Should You Hire a Lawyer?
If you are charged with DUI, there will be repercussions for breaking the law. Therefore, understand the law of underage DUI in California to know the extent of the trouble you face. Knowing what to expect will help you understand why you should hire a lawyer. The professional will guide you and help you avoid problems that could worsen the case.
The professional also knows how to deal with insurance companies. If the company persuades you to accept being guilty, the lawyer will represent you and do what needs to be done. They will protect you from prosecutors and ensure you do not do or say anything that will ruin your case.
What to Expect After the Arrest?
If you have been arrested for DUI in Riverside, there is a high chance you are facing jail time or other penalties. The case is even worse if you are underage. The arresting police will take your driver’s license and give you a pink license that you will use for 30 days. You will then require to request a hearing from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Your DUI lawyer will need to pursue and ensure your license is unsuspended during this hearing.
You may continue driving if you are found guilty, but the car will have an interlock device. You may get penalties like fines, license suspension, probation, or you may have to attend a DUI school. The school takes around 3 to 30 months, depending on your criminal history.
In Riverside, California, first DUI offenders get 6-10 days in jail, one month for a second offender, and up to 120 days for thirst time offenders.
Penalties for First-time Offenders
As long as there are no other mistakes, here are the penalties you get if you have been arrested for DUI for the first time.
- A 3-year Summary probation
- Fines including court expenses of about $2,400
- A 6-month license suspension
Similar penalties go the same for second-time offenders. However, the time limit differs, with a second-time offender getting up to 5 years Summar probation, 30 days in jail, and one year of an interlock device on the vehicle.
Penalty for Third-time Offenders
If you have been arrested for DUI more than three times, you risk the following.
- A fine of up to $3,000
- Two years interlock device
- 120 days-1 year jail time
- 3–5-year summary probation
When facing DUI charges in Riverside, it is vital to have a reputable attorney for proper defense and guidance throughout the case. If you are unsure whether you need a lawyer, speak to someone with ample knowledge of DUI laws and penalties. They will explain why a lawyer is essential and how to get one.